Bumping into love

So last night I tuned into a few minutes of Kara Dioguardi’s True Hollywood Story.

Ok, I watched it all.

Three quarters of the way through she told a story about being very successful at 36 but still single. She talked about coming to terms with all the good things in her life and accepting that she might not find a partner.

Then she goes on holiday to a rental house in Maine, gets asked out by the building contractor working on the house next door (after arguing with him) and they end up married.

HOW DOES THAT STUFF HAPPEN TO PEOPLE?

Fate?

Destiny?

Luck?

WHAT?

How do you just bump into THAT GUY and not even have to think about it?

Aaarrgggghhh it’s so frustrating.

Why some and not others?

About six or seven years ago when I was in that same age bracket as Kara, an aunt told me to go travelling to find love. Both her grand-daughters had met their husbands while travelling.

I’ve travelled all over Europe, America and to parts of Asia.

Still single.

I must have met thousands of people since moving to the States.

Still single.

Have looked for love.

Still single.

Have waited for it to come to me while I worked on other things.

Still single.

I’m running out of ideas.

It’s no good saying, I’m ok with the situation as it is because I’m not.

Yes, I can look after myself and am happy with my job. I write for a living, and lately new opportunities have been opening up to me. I’m very grateful. I love that I get to experience everything I have because of what I do. It’s exciting and I can do it well.

But I really want to meet someone, and I don’t think it’s going to happen in LA.

*books ticket to Maine*

I’m ready to bump.

Spinny out.

3 Comments on “Bumping into love”

  1. Personally I’m thinking of heading either to Colorado or New Mexico because I had an astrologer do one of those map charts that show the areas where you’re most likely to find a partner. Naturally, in my present location the chance is zero. (No guessing there.) The really dark red lines and pink areas were mostly through the states I mentioned, and I realized while traveling through those areas a year or so ago I noticed a lot of attention, much more than usual, but I credited it to the vehicle we were driving and didn’t actually think it was me garnering so much attention at all those stops and hotels. In particular there was a man at a hotel outside Denver that looked at me in such a way (smoldering) it made me blush –until I saw the ring on his finger. But who knows, maybe there is actually something to this. Once it’s possible to extricate myself without injury, I’m going back. I did love Santa Fe. Maybe Val Kilmer’s got an opening for a ranch hand. 🙂

  2. Rouge Vino says:

    Try this website for some good tips from the other side http://www.catchhimandkeephim.com

    Good luck but thought the “accepting that she might not find a partner” might be significant in terms of what she was putting out there.

  3. I think all the manly men are in cold climates, like Alaska. I’m not giving up California weather for a penis.


Leave a Reply

