Spinny at the Chateau

Today I shall be pretending more than ever.

Pretending to fit in.

Pretending it’s all ok.

Pretending that I didn’t just trip up on the stairs down to the patio.

I’m a guest at an editor’s lunch at the Chateau Marmont in Hollywood.

Just another day at the office.

I’m a career professional (by default now I suppose), so this should be a doddle.

But the preparations are fraught.

What to wear is top of the ‘fraught list’.

And I always wonder how long will it be before I completely embarrass myself by saying the wrong thing/talking with my mouth full/not recognising the most important publisher in town.

My only consolation is that the editors (of the kind I shall be mingling with) are mostly women.

Mostly single. Mostly childless.

We’re all in it together.

Underneath the lippy, sunshine and dazzling smiles, we’re all just ‘Spinters in a Quandry’.

Loving our jobs but wondering “Why didn’t I end up having it all when Cosmo told me I would?”

But that feeling will be tempered by delicious cocktails, job opportunities, Bec & Bridge wedges, and handsome waiters.

A wise Spinny makes the most of every situation.

We’re resourceful, and by virtue of our status, able to enjoy the other side of life.

The Modern-day Spinster breathes rarified air.

The ‘all’ we have, is actually pretty damn good.

As long as you can cope when you drop your food down your Marc Jacobs shirt dress in front of Anna Wintour.

Spinny out.

One Comment on “Spinny at the Chateau”

  1. You say: “The Modern-day Spinster breathes rarified air. The ‘all’ we have, is actually pretty damn good.” I agree, it is pretty damn good. And I love that whatever problems I have are usually of my own creation…not his or the kids. Just mine. I can’t be mad at that.
    -The Spinsterlicious Life


Leave a Reply

