A SPILF to be reckoned with.

I’m feeling good about myself these day. Oh yeah!

I’ve done the post-break up rollercoaster – the hurt, the anger, the horror, the indefatigable self-loathing – and now I’m leaving that emotional theme park and heading to sunshine city. (End of crappy metaphors, I promise).

Weight has been lost, hair has been coloured, new clothes have been bought, work has picked up and I no longer look like the ghost of Christmas past.

Most helpful has been a new job opportunity, my amazing business partner, the fact that I really like my new apartment, and the joy of living in southern California.

I’ve been laughing more. My confidence is on the up and I feel regenerated.

You know what this means?

I’ve become a fully-fledged SPILF.

(You work it out).

That’s right. I finally feel sexy again. Who’d have thought it?

I’m doing flirty eye contact with the new men I’m meeting. I’m showing cleavage (who cares if it’s crepey schmapey!).

In fact, there are bits of my body I actually like. I always had good legs and ankles (they survived the past few months), the boobs are holding up nicely and my smile (not seen much recently), is working its magic once more.

Also, the thought of going on a date doesn’t make me want to stab hot pins into my eyes.

Yep, all of that is very attractive to men.

But hear this; it’s going to take more than a glass of Pinot to find out what this SPILF is really capable of.

I’m all about quality over quantity these days.

I may be all high-wattage smiles, power lunches, flirty giggles and wedge heels, but I’m also holding back the best bits for the right time. The right guy.

Could be a long wait.

But that’s okay.

I’m smiling again. Happy.

And right now, that’s absolutely enough.

TOP TIPS FOR SPILFS:

Own your age.

Befriend a stylist.

Don’t compare yourself to anyone else.

If you do venture into Forever 21, only buy sunglasses, then leave quickly.

Invest in good underwear.

Keep up with social media trends.

Write lots of lists then ignore them.

Say hello to your inner child once a week.

Get a make-up artist friend to show you some sneaky tricks of the trade.

Say yes to things you wouldn’t normally say yes to.

Don’t assume that people have pigeon-holed you.

Remember you’re not dead, til you’re dead.

Thank whoever, that you’re not already ten years older.

Imagine that it is possible, and that it will happen.

This is not the end of your story.

Spinny out.

3 Comments on “A SPILF to be reckoned with.”

  1. Made me smile. Thank you.

  2. I was thinking about you as I wrote it. I’m glad it made you smile.

  3. I forgot to tell you that your Carbface chronicles made me give up MOST carbs. I do miss pastries and bread though. It’s tough.


Leave a Reply

