I’m calling time on this bullshit

I’m owed money dating back months.

Funny that, because I managed to get my work in on time. I didn’t miss a deadline, and I did a good job. To sum up, I held up MY end of the bargain.

Apparently, my money is in a banking system somewhere in the world. So by my reckoning, the bank is making interest on my money, while I sit here and wonder how I’m going to make rent.

I know I’m not the only one. But I’m the only one living in my house.

And that means if I don’t get paid, the bills don’t get paid; my internet gets cut off, my car goes uninsured, the cat doesn’t get fed and I don’t have quarters for the laundry. You get the picture.

Worse, I have to start living on credit again.

The recession has eaten through my safety net of cash, and most of my assets. As a single woman, I’m staring down the barrel of a gun here.

And yet somewhere in the world, the bank has my money.

As I said, I’m not the only one. Every other person I meet who works freelance, for themselves or on contract is owed money. We’re all living on fumes. It’s like taking two steps forward and one back.

The economists bleat on about the ‘slow recovery’ but isn’t is funny how Wall Street and every other banking sector in the world is making a ton of money again, while we’re left scratching around for pennies and thinking, ‘Thank god I have my change pot, I can buy a bagel for breakfast today.’

It stinks.

I want companies to START PAYING UP ON TIME.

I want employers to STOP ASKING ME TO WORK FOR LESS MONEY.

Or worse, STOP ASKING ME TO WORK FOR FREE.

It’s insulting.

I’m a professional.

This is not what I was promised.

I’m calling time on this bullshit.

2 Comments on “I’m calling time on this bullshit”

  1. I work for myself (own a company) and found the way to avoiding this is being a total BITCH about my money. For starters, I charge a 10% late fee for every DAY past the due date. Secondly, I have been known to actually go to the offices of whomever owes me money, late invoice in hand, and say, “I need this TODAY. I’ll wait.” Of course, that’s not feasible if you’re working for someone remotely, but incessant phone calls and threats to report them for non-payment to D&B can also light a fire.

  2. Good for you! I’m currently having a wrangle with the bank who tells me that it will take EIGHT weeks for money to transfer from one account to another. In this day and age, are you kidding me?! I work remotely from all my employers but if I could march on city hall, believe me I’d be doing it right now. Exasperating.


Leave a Reply

