Worrying for One

One of the things I find hard to cope with living by myself is that I sweat over not just the small stuff, but the medium and large stuff too.

When it’s just you, the cat and a stack of bills, it’s easy to get lost in a maelstrom of negative thoughts and fears, especially when you’ve had a tough few months (and who hasn’t recently?).

Without another human body in the room to give you a hug and say, ‘Don’t worry, it’ll be ok’, (even if it’s a blatant lie), the smallest things can become insurmountable problems.

I’d be quite interested to hear how you cope with stress. And by stress I mean LIFE.

I can wake up at 4am, start thinking about my lack of money/heavy workload/mother’s health/whatever and almost give myself a horizontal panic attack. Pointless.

All that does is make it impossible for me to go back to sleep, meaning that I can’t function properly for the next 24 hours. And if I can’t function properly, I stress even more.

So this evening, I found this article called ‘Chill! 19 Things You Can Stop Worrying About Right Now’ on the Oprah website and liked some of it so much, that I thought I’d share it with you.

I’m not sure why they couldn’t round it up and find a 20th thing but I’m sure as hell not going to worry about it.

2 Comments on “Worrying for One”

  1. Matt says:

    So I’m not a single woman, but I might as well be 😉 so I thought I’d say I always look for something to laugh about and tell someone else about it.

  2. Natacha Von Braun says:

    Simple. I just don’t think about it. If I do, I panic. And I’m very fond of sleep.


Leave a Reply

