On a break

Hi everyone,

I wanted to let you know that I’m taking a break from writing ‘Hollywood Spinster’.

There are a few reasons but mainly I feel that I’m in a very different place from when I started this blog 12 months ago. I was fresh out of a two-year relationship, 42-years-old, and needed a place to vent.

You were my therapy.

My life is changing again, and right now, I don’t feel the need to define myself as a spinster. Hollywood or otherwise.

I haven’t given up on finding love or a partner-in-crime, and so it’s time to say goodbye to Spinny,  Carb-Face and the cast of thousands that have made writing this blog so much fun.

I’m very grateful for all your support and am still considering what to do with Spinny. It may end up being the basis for a novel or a screenplay. I haven’t decided yet but I remain very fond of Spinny and her ramblings.

More importantly, I consider it a huge success. It went from 92 views for the entire month of February 2011 to almost 7,000 views alone during February 2012. It’s incredible that so many of you read and supported Spinny. I’ve made new friends here and have been touched every time you’ve shared your personal stories with me.

Being single later in life is a challenge. But there are so many of us out there now, it will be interesting to see if society can conjure up a better word than ‘spinster’ for the many strong, independent women in the world.

What I’ve learned is that we’re very good at supporting each other through the good times and the bad. And I feel that will be very important in the years to come.

Thanks for a wonderful year, and hopefully, I’ll be back to talk about vagina cupcakes, Stage Four Jeans and the yeasty eating habits of Carb-Face in some form or another very soon.

In the meantime, this blog will remain active – I will still be posting news articles/photos that I feel are relevant – and you can still get in touch with me via hollywoodspinster@gmail.com

Take care lovely people!

Spinny out.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.