In the Company of Me

I’ve just spent an entire weekend by myself.

And I absolutely loved it.

Being on your own when it’s what your heart desires is heaven. I’m still amazed when I meet someone who says, ‘I hate my own company’. Or, ‘I never know what to do with myself’.

That’s quite unfortunate because unless you’re physically joined to someone or share a cell, chances are, you’re going to be on your own from time to time.

Of course, the problem comes when you find yourself alone when you don’t want to be. Then it’s heart-breaking.

I got used to my own company as a kid.

The house I grew up in wasn’t happy and peaceful so I’d spend a lot of enforced hours in my bedroom. I’d listen to music, write and dream. All the stuff I do now really.

Having to fend for yourself at such an early age makes you resourceful and inventive. Although my inventiveness this weekend only really consisted of eating, biking and sleeping.

Thinking about it, I probably needed a rest. I had the place to myself and I did what I wanted.

Lovely.

Don’t get me wrong, I like people. I love a convivial brunch, an impromptu shopping trip or dinner with friends but there’s something to be said for not washing, speaking or having to be polite to other humans for 48 hours.

Don’t knock it til you’ve tried it.

Spinny out.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers